Meet the Board

Following the approval of The British Waterways Board (Transfer of Functions) Order 2012 (“the BW Order”) the British Waterways Board, operating as Scottish Canals, became a public body in the Scottish public sector wholly accountable to Scottish Ministers with effect from 2nd July 2012.

On behalf of the Scottish Ministers, the appointments for the chair and members to the Board of Scottish Canals, including the Chief Executive of Scottish Canals, were formalised as follows:

  • Andrew Thin (Chair)
  • Tanya Castell (Vice Chair)
  • Catherine Topley (Interim Chief Executive)
  • Martin Latimer
  • Cathie Bankier
  • Dr Deborah Benson

The Board has responsibility and accountability for Scottish Canals in accordance with the Transport Act 1962 Part 1 and Schedule 1, as amended by the BW Order for a three year term. The quorum for meetings of the Board shall be three.

The Board of Scottish Canals closely follows the model Code of Conduct approved by the Scottish Parliament. This code ensures high standards are maintained in Scottish public life.

The Scottish Government is seeking applications for two new Non-Executive Directors for the board of Scottish Canals. Find out more here.

Find out more about this Code of Conduct.

Scottish Canals Register of Interests.